Health and Safety

What's It All About?

Participating in activities at all levels involves a degree of risk. Participants as individuals, committees and the Students' Union as a whole have a responsibility to anticipate possible hazards and to do everything possible to reduce the likelihood and severity of any hazard. The information here endeavours to inform members of the requirements that the Students' Union has put in place and how members can fulfill those requirements and meet their duty of care to themselves and their colleagues.

The Student Activities Safety Handbook tells you all about the Students' Union's health and safety requirements in relation to student activities. You should always make sure that the relevant office (Activities, Transport, Volunteering, Enterprise etc) is fully informed and involved in your plans. If in doubt, always ask! If you would like a copy of the Student Activities Safety Handbook, please ask for one.

Training Courses

There are student activity health and safety courses run annually, many of them through the Students' Union's Skills Training. Alternatively, please ask your area manager for details.

Driver training is available throughout the year through the Transport Office.

Health and Safety Training Health and Safety Test

Contacts
Volunteering Activities Anna Boneham, Student Development Manager
Email: A.Boneham@bath.ac.uk
Clubs and Societies Activities Polly Hawker, Activities Manager
Email: P.Hawker@bath.ac.uk
Transport Issues Paul Brooks, Transport Coordinator
Email: P.Brooks@bath.ac.uk
Enterprise Activities Becky Gallagher, Student Development Manager
Email: R.S.Gallagher@bath.ac.uk
Welfare Advice & Representation Area Activities Carol Lacey, Advice & Community Manager
Email: C.Lacey@bath.ac.uk
Academic, ISA, PGA ActivitiesCharlie Slack, Representation & Engagement Manager
Email: C.A.Slack@bath.ac.uk
OtherAlison Fleet, Executive Support & Facilities Manager
Email: A.J.Fleet@bath.ac.uk